Bourbon Caramel Ice Cream

This blog is a terrible influence on my waistline.  Since we’ve started it , when I come across an interesting recipe ( like bourbon caramel ice cream), instead of bookmarking it for a special occasion, I think “hey…I should make this for the blog, because that’s what the blog is there for, and why wait when I could make it right now”.  Before I know it there is a pint of this sitting in my freezer calling to me and I am wondering how it can be so delicious when I don’t even like bourbon!

Speaking of bourbon I had to go to three liquor stores before I found one that sold mini bottles of the stuff. And I am glad I found them because the bottles are super cute!

Also while I’m on a tangent, did you know there are people in this world who have never had homemade ice cream? That makes me sad, because store bought just doesn’t compare. It is creamier and the flavours are richer and it tastes fresher! My new mission is life is to force feed as many people as possible homemade ice cream!

This recipe was adapted by Jessica at How Sweet It Is (http://www.howsweeteats.com/2012/10/burnt-caramel-bourbon-ice-cream-with-milk-chocolate-toffee/) and is such a great one to start summer with.

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups whole milk
1 1/2 tablespoons cornstarch
1/2 cup of your favorite bourbon
1 1/4 cups heavy cream
2 tablespoons light corn syrup
4 tablespoons mascarpone cheese, softened
1/4 teaspoon salt
2/3 cup granulated sugar
3/4 cup milk chocolate toffee pieces (eg: a chopped up Skor bar or Skor bits)

Recipe

  • From the 1 ½ cups of milk remove 2 tbsps and add to the cornstarch in a small bowl. Mix to form a thin paste and set aside. Add the bourbon to the rest of the milk and set aside.
  • Mix together the cream and the corn syrup and set aside.
  • In a large bowl mix the salt and the mascarpone, set aside
  • Pour the sugar in a thin layer over the base of a large saucepan.
  • On a medium heat melt the sugar while watching very very very carefully. Don’t stir it until there is just a little bit of white sugar in the centre and the edges are golden and bubbly.
  • Stir now with a heat proof spatula, scraping the bottom of the pot. Once the sugar is a deep caramel colour and just starts to smoke, remove it from the heat and  very quickly whisk in a couple spoonfuls of the cream mixture.
  • Very slowly add the remaining cream and whisk constantly.
  • Put the pot back on the heat and add the milk and bourbon mixture. Bring to a rolling boil.
  • Once boiling cook for 4 minutes
  • Remove from heat and add in the cornstarch paste, return to heat and cook for 2 minutes or until the mixture thickens slightly.
  • Slowly pour into the mascarpone mixture and whisk constantly.
  • Chill the mixture between 3 hours to overnight. (I always do my ice cream custards overnight and find that they develop way better flavour)
  • Churn the mixture, according to your ice cream maker’s instructions, adding the toffee bits in the last 5 minutes.

Enjoy your ice cream and thanks for reading! 

Cheers,Rosie :)

Leave a Reply

