Restaurant Review: Ambeli Restaurant

I love eating out! I (Andy) was lucky enough to be in Wellington over the weekend visiting my beautiful sister and my gorgeous new niece, and decided to book in at Ambeli for dinner after hearing and reading lots of good things about them.

We arrived at about 8pm and were seated by the fire, which was great as it was a wet and windy Wellington weekend. We ordered pretty promptly. After placing our orders the waitress served us a delicious sour dough roll to start while we waited – this was promptly devoured!

For the main course I ordered pan seared snapper with baby octopus & scampi and my husband ordered seared duck breast with quinoa & crispy duck leg salad.

When our plates arrived we were really impressed, the food was presented beautifully. The fish was fresh and the baby octopus were the star of the show for me. I didn’t test the duck, but apparently it was very good!

We also ordered sides of sautéed broccoli and potatoes; I am not really a potato fan but these were crispy and flavoursome and came with aioli which was delicious.

I finished off the meal with dessert (of course) of slow roasted pear with honey and fig icecream. I usually go with something chocolatey so this was a nice change.

So in summary, a lovely restaurant! The service, food and atmosphere were fantastic which made for an enjoyable and memorable evening.

http://www.ambeli.co.nz

3 thoughts on “Restaurant Review: Ambeli Restaurant

Leave a Reply

