Goat Cheese Stuffed Chicken

When it comes to cooking for one, you can’t beat chicken for quick and easy dinners. You can stuff it, roll it, fry it, bake it, roast and serve it with any side you have on hand. I eat a chicken breast on salad at least once a week. The flavours of the salad change depending on my mood (and how healthy I am feeling!). One night I might throw together a grilled chicken ceasar salad, and another night I might slice the breast into strips, bread them, fry them and create a buffalo chicken salad.

I also think bacon and cheese should be a food group. Especially goat cheese (sweet or savoury I can’t think of any dish that doesn’t benefit from the addition of goat cheese, I would happily eat cake covered in the stuff). This recipe is one that combines simple ingredients into a delicious moist chicken breast and takes around 30minutes to make. The inspiration came from a recipe on http://www.howsweeteats.com/ that used goat cheese under the skin of a roast chicken and I figured why not put the cheese inside a chicken breast. And while I was at it I couldnt resist the urge to add bacon and chives.

Recipe
1 chicken breast
2 tbsp goat cheese
1 strip bacon, cooked and crumbled
2 tsp. Chives
Salt and pepper to taste
Your favourite poultry seasoning
Olive Oil
Instructions Mix together goat cheese, bacon, chives, salt and pepper. Cut a pocket in the chicken breast and stuff in the goat cheese mixture. Close up the pocket and secure with toothpicks. Season the chicken breast with your poultry seasoning (I used Masterfoods Italian Seasoning) and place in baking dish. Drizzle with olive oil and bake in 180 degree oven until browned and juices run clear. This should take around 20minutes. Once cooked, let it rest for a few minutes and then serve it. (I served mine with a bunch of leafy greens in a white wine vinigrette and the juices from the baking dish poured over the top.)

Enjoy,  Rosie 🙂

Leave a Reply

