Cheesy Filo Parcels

My brother gave me a ‘party food’ recipe book a few years ago and I have been wanting to make this recipe for some time now! I decided that the past weekend was the perfect time to give them a go.

Ingredients:
150 grams feta
125 grams ricotta
1 egg, lightly beaten
pinch of nutmeg, and pinch of pepper
Filo pastry – number of sheets depends on the proportion of pastry to cheese you desire – I used about 10
50 grams of melted butter
Combine feta, ricotta, egg, nutmeg and pepper, mix well.
Layer 2 sheets of pastry, brush with butter then fold in half length ways. Place a 5th of the filling at the top and fold however you fancy! Brush on more butter as you fold and then the top as well. bake at about 200 degrees C for 15 mins. I then turned mine over and browned the other side for a few minutes.
These turned out beautifully, much tastier than i expected. I served the parcels with a simple salad. I also combined some additional feta, ricotta, lemon juice, garlic and a splash of olive oil to make a cheesy dressing to tie the two elements together. A great meal!
Have a great day,
Andy
Leave a Reply

