Chicken And Gruyere Frittata

On the weekend I had some friends around for a nice chicken dinner. Only I made twice as much chicken as I needed, and have been eating leftovers all week. It sounds like I’m complaining but I promise I’m not, as there is so much to be done with the remaining chicken. Chicken soup, thai red curry with chicken, chicken tacos  etc. and this amazing frittata.

I found the recipe on the Williams Sonoma site. Did you know that in addition to fancy kitchen gear they have a massive collection of recipes? I feel like I have discovered something very top secret and refuse to apologize if my next few posts are all Williams Sonoma meals.

The original recipe called for brie, but I swapped it out for the same amount of gruyere. I am not a fan of cooking with brie as I find the flavour quite mild. So I punched it up with one of my favourite cooking cheeses!

Recipe
http://www.williams-sonoma.com/recipe/roasted-chicken-and-brie-frittata.html

Ingredients:

  • 2 Tbs. vegetable oil
  • 4 shallots, cut into 1/4-inch slices
  • 10 eggs, lightly beaten
  • 1/2 tsp. finely chopped fresh thyme
  • 3 Tbs. plus 1 tsp. finely chopped fresh flat-leaf parsley
  • 1 1/2 cups shredded roast chicken
  • 6 oz. gruyere cheese, shredded
  • Kosher salt and freshly ground pepper, to taste

Directions:

Rosie Note: The original recipe calls for a frittata pan which is basically 2 pans attached so that you can easily flip the frittata from one half to the other. I don’t have a frittata pan, so I use 2 similar sized frying pans (one slightly deeper than the other) and have never had a problem with the final product. 

In the deep pan over medium heat, warm 1 Tbs. of the oil. Add the shallots and cook, stirring occasionally, until softened and lightly browned, 6 to 7 minutes, adding 1 to 2 Tbs. water if the pan becomes too dry. Transfer to a bowl and stir in the eggs, thyme, the 3 Tbs. parsley, the chicken and cheese. Season with salt and pepper.

In the same deep pan over medium heat, warm 2 tsp. of the oil. Add the egg mixture and cook, using a rubber spatula to lift the cooked edges and allow the uncooked eggs to flow underneath, until the eggs are just beginning to set, 6 to 7 minutes.

Meanwhile, in the shallow pan over medium heat, warm the remaining 1 tsp. oil. Place the shallow pan upside down on top of the deep pan and flip the frittata into the shallow pan. Cook, covered, until the eggs are set, 8 to 9 minutes.

Carefully slide the frittata onto a plate. Sprinkle with the 1 tsp. parsley. Serves 6.

 

 

Cheers, Rosie 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

