Easy Mulled Wine

SAM_2176

Today I got woken up by the courier because a package arrived today from Canada, full of Christmas presents from my family! So it is time to stop procrastinating and decorate my Christmas tree, so they have somewhere to sit (taunting me) until the 25th!

I have cranked the Christmas music and decided I needed something festive to drink. Enter this super easy mulled wine recipe. Most recipes make you heat the spices and wine for at least an hour to get everything to infuse. This one cooks the sugar and spices together first to create a spice syrup, which the wine is then mixed into. And it’s delicious, if a little sweet. Next time I will cut back the sugar to 100g from the original 150g and see what happens!

I am ready to start decorating!

*Note: I used the cheapest bottle of red wine I could find. It cost me $6. I can imagine that a higher quality wine, might yield an even more delicious drink.

SAM_2160


Recipe from: http://adelineandlumiere.com/2012/08/07/best-ever-spiced-mulled-wine/#

Ingredients
750ml red wine
150g castor sugar (*UPDATE: 75g of sugar works perfectly and isn’t too sweet)
1/2 cup orange juice
peel of one lemon
peel of one orange
1 star anise
1 cinnamon stick
5 cloves
1 tsp fresh nutmeg
pinch of ginger

SAM_2164

Recipe

Place everything but the wine in a large pot. Add a splash of wine to ensure that the sugar is covered by liquid. Cook on a medium heat for around 5minutes until you have a thick, and slightly spicy syrup. Pour in the rest of the wine and turn down the heat, to prevent boiling. Stir the syrup and wine together and heat for 5minutes until the wine is hot. Taste. The flavours will be stronger the longer the wine is heated. So if it needs a little longer, leave it to heat further.

Strain and serve. I used a china tea cup because my mom always said everything tastes better out of china and I always listen to her 😉

SAM_2178

Enjoy, Rosie 🙂

One thought on “Easy Mulled Wine

  1. Barb Smiley

    Tried the mulled wine last night – had a really nice bottle I had been saving for some reason. This was the reason – awesome and warming and festive tasting. Good job Rosie!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

