Eggnog Steamer

SAM_2201

This steamer tastes like sitting at my mom’s kitchen table making gingerbread men!

The only time of year that I notice I’m an ex-pat is during Christmas. And that’s mostly because: 1) It’s summer in New Zealand and there isn’t a hint of snow and 2) there isn’t any eggnog anywhere. I can’t do anything about the snow, but my mom sure helped me out with the eggnog situation! She emailed me this recipe and it is perfect!

I decided that with just over a week to Christmas to go, it is the perfect night for an eggnog and a Christmas movie. (It also might be an excuse just to buy another miniature bottle of alcohol. I wish I could high five the person who started bottling tiny amounts of alcohol and selling it. I never drink rum, so buying a big bottle is a waste. This is the exact amount and needed…and it’s cute!)

SAM_2192

This recipe is from the December 2012 issue of Canadian Living magazine.

Ingredients
2 cups of milk
2 egg yolks
1/4 cup white sugar
1 tsp vanilla
1/4 tsp rum extract
1/4 cup bourbon or dark rum (optional)
1/4 cup whipping cream, whipped
Pinch nutmeg

SAM_2194

Recipe
Heat the milk in a small saucepan until steaming and bubbles are forming on the outside. Whisk together the egg yolks and sugar. Add around half the milk to the egg mixture very slowly, whisking constantly. Return the mixture to the remaining milk in the saucepan and cook for around 3 minutes. The mixture should lightly coat the back of a spoon. Stir in the vanilla, run extract and booze.

Pour into 3 normal sized mugs, top with whipped cream and sprinkle with nutmeg.

SAM_2198

 

Cheers, Rosie 🙂

Leave a Reply

